Skip to content

I Banned My Own Book

August 31, 2014

(Originally posted at Page Turner’s Blog on 10-22-10)

(E-book released August 2014 with new cover)

ARCs from HarperCollins!

New Cover for E-book Release, August 2014 New Cover for E-book Release, August 2014

When I received the advance reader’s copy of my novel, Escaping The Tiger, I told my daughter she couldn’t read it—yet. Perhaps in a year or so. She was only 8 ½  and I wasn’t sure she could appreciate or process the gritty realities my characters face, realities that are based, in part, on her father’s childhood escape from Communist Laos. But she sneaked the arc and read it anyway.

Of course she did. It was forbidden fruit.

I caught her about three chapters in and decided if she was willing to read it, I’d be there to guide her. We talked on the way home from school one day. I asked her how the book was going.

“Fine,” she said.

“Is it scaring…

View original post 227 more words

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mirkabreen permalink
    September 2, 2014 12:50 pm

    You sure hit the nail on the head, Laura. I hadn’t read the original post until now, but you reminded me why I loved your book so.

    Like

    • Laura Manivong permalink*
      September 8, 2014 8:58 am

      Mirka, that means so much. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

