Skip to content

Evolution of an author’s website

May 30, 2009
1st attempt

1st attempt

2nd attempt

2nd attempt

3rd attempt

3rd attempt

So I’m trying to do this myself since I bought a Mac last year and they have that super easy-to-use iWeb application. I was very excited about attempt number one (on top) and got good feedback from internet friends (thanks, internet friends!) Then I showed it to some designers at work (I work at a TV station that’s crawling with creative sorts).

Here’s what they said…

“Too cluttered.”

“Not enough negative space.”

“Don’t be afraid of small.”

“Is that your family on a picnic?”

“Your color palette…hmm…uncool.”

So then I made a second attempt. I de-cluttered, embraced my small, integrated the refugee photo by tilting it toward the book cover so readers get that they’re connected, and added some random colored boxes that meant nothing but were an attempt to make a pleasing color palette. And I showed it to my internet friends again.

“What are those random boxes? I don’t get it.”

“I can’t see the faces anymore. The picture’s too small.”

“What happened to the cool header?”

“It looks like a travel website.”

So I’m on design attempt number three (not to mention the 46,399 tweaks to the previous attempts). I’m sure it’ll change. I’m sure of it. So feel free to leave an opinion if you want, but I might not listen–I think I’m getting blood clots. (Omg, I’m just kidding! I love to hear what you think!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 2:57 pm

    OMG, you poor thing! So confusing, with all this feedback. Well, I’m not a designer, so keep that in mind, but my favorite is now version #3. 🙂

    Like

  2. Laura Manivong permalink*
    May 31, 2009 4:27 pm

    It’s no different than when you get rejections from six different editors who all have different things to pick on. Such is the creative life. And THANK YOU for chiming in!

    Like

  3. June 1, 2009 9:47 am

    I like # 3, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

