Skip to content

My hubby as a refugee

May 14, 2009

troy-refugeeMy novel, Escaping The Tiger, is loosely based on my husband’s experiences as a Laotian refugee. This is a picture of his family after they passed their exit interviews in Na Pho Refugee Camp in northern Thailand. My husband is the tallest one, and now weighs 40 pounds more than he did in this photo from 1987.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lishacauthen permalink
    May 14, 2009 1:36 pm

    Welcome to wordpress, the blog home of the brightest and the best. http://www.lishacauthen.wordpress.com.

    Has all of your husband’s family read the manuscript? If so, do they all approve? If not, are you nervous to have them read it?

    Like

    • Laura Manivong permalink*
      May 14, 2009 1:54 pm

      My husband’s dad read it and gave me the green light. Because the story is historical fiction, I mainly needed him to make sure the historical references were accurate. When my husband read it, he’d say, there was no tree by the medical building, so that’s where the fiction part comes in. I’ve never been to the refugee camp so his memory and my imagination didn’t always align. I’d say but the tree has to be there so Vonlai can hide behind it in that scene.

      Like

  2. emilyhainsworth permalink
    May 14, 2009 1:55 pm

    Welcome to wordpress, Laura!!! Now you’re sitting with the cool kids at lunch. 😉 Uhm, but I think this entry is supposed to say Escaping The Tiger (aka Laura Manivong’s AWESOME book) comes out 2.17.2010, correct? Cuz for a moment I was freaking out that I missed your debut!

    Like

    • Laura Manivong permalink*
      May 14, 2009 2:03 pm

      Hey Emily, thanks!! And btw, how’d you get your pic as an avatar? And how do I set the comments so I don’t have to moderate? Been fishing around and can’t find it!!! I really am so greeeeeen!!

      Like

  3. Emily Hainsworth permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:18 pm

    Ok, I had to turn on my brain for this! You can set any pic as avatar by going to your Dashboard, scrolling down to Users, and clicking Your Profile. The avatar is called a “gravatar”. Um, and the comments…ok found it! Go to Dashboard, Settings, and then Discussion – everything you need should be there! Rock it! 🙂

    Like

  4. laura manivong permalink*
    May 14, 2009 10:36 pm

    I’m on it, Emily. And I finally figured out what a blogroll was, and it has nothing to do with cinnamon and sugar. Thank you, my sweet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

