Skip to content

Wanna bait agents & editors? Your query letter needs a hook!

August 27, 2009

What the heck is a hook? Writers hear about the need for one in their query letters to agents and editors. And writing a hook is not only good for your query letter (because I heard all those grumbles), it’s good for your manuscript. There’s no better way to focus the heart of a story than to summarize your novel with one pithy, make-me-wanna-look line.

So go here and soak in these hooks, and get a handle on what it means to be “high concept”: What’s a high concept hook?

(See book trailer for my debut novel from HarperCollins, Escaping The Tiger)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 1:48 am

    good stuff here! I struggle with hooks. Always have. I still don’t know how great they are, but I at least have one for my chapter book and one of my pbs.

    peace,
    Donna

    • Laura Manivong permalink*
      November 19, 2009 10:40 pm

      Even writing the hook helps focus the story, whether you use it or not!

  2. M Diamond permalink
    November 19, 2009 5:08 pm

    Laura – Question: Do you absolutely need to have your book finished before sending the query?

    • Laura Manivong permalink*
      November 19, 2009 10:43 pm

      Well, with fiction, it’s pretty standard that it be done. Are you wanting to query now because you know it’s a long wait? I’m not sure where you are in your novel, but if you haven’t gotten to the end, you may be surprised how much of the early stuff will change once you DO get there.

  3. March 5, 2010 8:04 pm

    It’s me again!

    I’ve recently found that I have a knack for writing hooks for other people. :) It’s fun! I can write them more easily for others b/c I am not “attached” to their stories, I think.

    Writing my own is more challenging…but still fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

